Glenn L. Martin Wind Tunnel  

UMD    This Site

2011 AIAA Region 1-MA Student Conference award recipients (from left to right): Ryan Robinson (BS'09, MS), Hocking (MS), Teju Jarugumilli (BS '11), Alexander Leishman (BS'11), Robert Vocke (BS'09, MS).

2011 AIAA Region 1-MA Student Conference award recipients (from left to right): Ryan Robinson (BS'09, MS), Hocking (MS), Teju Jarugumilli (BS '11), Alexander Leishman (BS'11), Robert Vocke (BS'09, MS).


Twenty undergraduate and graduate aerospace engineering students from the Dept. of Aerospace Engineering at the University of Maryland (UMD) competed in the AIAA Region 1-MA (Mid-Atlantic) Student Conference held on April 8-9, 2011, at the University of Virginia in Charlottesville. Four additional universities were represented including Old Dominion University, Penn State University, Virginia Tech, and University of Virginia, Forty-two students presented their research to a panel of judges from industry that selected First, Second and Third Place in five categories: Masters, Undergraduate, Team, Outreach and Other Topics. All winners were awarded certificates and cash prizes from AIAA for their efforts. University of Maryland student who were recipients of awards are listed below. Go Terps!

  • Second Place - Mr. Robbie Vocke: Modeling, Design, and Construction of a Servo Type Actuator Using Miniature Pneumatic Artificial Muscles

  • Second Place - Mr. Teju Jarugumilli: Understand the Effect of Number of Blades and Rotor Configuration On MAV-Scale Cycloidal Rotor Performance
  • Third Place - Mr. Alex Leishman: Experimental Validation of Wind Tunnel Estimation Using a Micro-helicopter

    Community Outreach:
  • Second Place - Ms. Erika Hocking

    "Other Topics:"
  • First Place - Mr. Robbie Vocke: Morphing Aircraft: A Revolution in Aerodynamic Adaptation
  • Second Place - Mr. Ryan Robinson A History of Pneumatic Muscles and their Aerospace Applications

Visit the AIAA Region 1-MA Student Conference Website for more information.

Related Articles:
UMD Sweeps AIAA Region I Student Papers Conference Masters Division
Two UMD Teams NASA BIG Idea Challenge Finalists
WIA Recognizes Bowden with Aerospace Educator Award
UMD Students Cinch First Place in 33rd Annual AHS Student Design Competition
Sherman Named 2016 Alex Brown Leadership Award Recipient
Four UMD Students Named 2016 Goldwater Scholars
Jones Named AIAA Associate Fellow
Wereley Awarded 2015 AIAA NCS Marvin C. Demler Award
Fievisohn Receives AIAA Foundation Martin Summerfield Propellants and Combustion Graduate Award
Jones Named AIAA National Capital Section's Hal Andrew Young Engineer of the Year

April 12, 2011

«Previous Story  



Current Headlines

UMD Loop Speaks at NASA Goddard, Visits Local Motors

UMD Takes First in Technical Design at DOE Competition

Aerospace Engineering Student Wins NDSEG Fellowship

Two Aerospace Engineering Students Named 2017-2018 ARCS Scholars

New Class Inducted into Order of the Engineer

UMD Team Chases Solar-Powered Victory

Four Aerospace Students Receive Society of Satellite Professionals International Scholarships

Developing Revolutionary Engineers & Mentors

Associate Professor Pino Martin Explores Turbulent Flows in UMD’s CRoCCo Laboratory

Petro Named MWC/ARCS Scholar

Back to top  
Wind Tunnel Home Clark School Home UMD Home Aerospace home